Home / Guides / Legislations / Section 508
Website Accessibility

Section 508: The Definitive Guide (2022)

Danny Trichter | Last updated: May 2022 | 10 minutes
Section 508: The Definitive Guide (2022)

This is a complete guide to Section 508 in 2022.

So if you’re looking to understand:

  • What is Section 508 and how is it related to the Rehabilitation Act?
  • What is the 2017 update to section 508?
  • How to comply with sectoin 508

You’ve come to the right place!

Let’s dive right in

Chapter 1:

What is Section 508?

What is Section 508?

In the first chapter we’ll learn what is Section 508, its history and its relation to the Rehabilitation act.


Let’s do it

What is Section 508?

Due to a rise in awareness of legislation required to accommodate the needs of Americans with disabilities, the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 was signed into law.

From its creation until the late 1990s, the Rehabilitation Act was reworked and revised, at times specifically to address issues related to technology and accessibility. In 1998, Section 508 was added to the act. This was an amendment requiring government websites and media to create, use, and maintain site content and technology that is accessible to people with disabilities.

What is the 2017 update to Section 508?

What is Section 508

Section 508 was updated once again In March 2017. This important update included accessibility requirements for information and communication technology. The goal was to bring the requirements of Section 508, originally laid out nearly 45 years earlier, up to date with the realities of technology and how we use and interact with it in the  21st century. 

The major changes included in the 2017 revision include:

– Any content related or aimed toward the general public needs to be accessible to people with disabilities, including those with impairments like visual, hearing, language, and motor. 

– Software and operating systems are required to be compatible with various assistive technologies (for example, screen readers).

– WCAG 2.0 Level AA compliance is required for most federal websites 

Chapter 2:

Why does Section 508 matter for my business?

Why does Section 508 matter for my business?

Now that you have a basic understanding of Section 508, let’s examine why it’s important for your business to comply with this important piece of legislation.

Why does Section 508 matter for my business?

Section 508 applies to any company that does business with a federal agency. This can include a range of businesses, including healthcare providers, legal organizations, private contractors, and others. Section 508 is crucial to people with disabilities, as, without it, they would not be able to navigate, comprehend, or have access to critical online information. 

When your business ignores compliance standards, it is missing out on serving the needs of a large and important group of users. Just as you would take steps to accommodate people with disabilities in a brick and mortar store, so too should website owners see their spaces online. 

Chapter 3:

What's the difference between Section 508 and the ADA?

What's the difference between Section 508 and the ADA?

The ADA is not the only piece of legislation that American-based businesses need to know about or comply with.

In this chapter, we will learn the difference between section 508 and the ADA.

Let’s do it.

What’s the difference between the ADA and Section 508?

The most important compliance regulatory bodies to know for U.S based businesses are the WCAG, the ADA, and Section 508. The WCAG forms the basis of other compliance standards, but you might still be wondering, how exactly do Section 508 and the ADA differ?

What's the difference between the ADA and Section 508

To put it simply, Section 508 is a set of rules specifically laid out for government entities. Keep in mind this is inclusive of any organizations that receive federal funding. The ADA, however, is applicable to the entire private sector.

Chapter 4:

Achieving compliance: Where do I go from here?

Achieving compliance: Where do I go from here?

We hope you enjoyed our guide 🙂

Now one question remains, where do you go from here?

Luckily, we are here to guide you through the next steps.

What are the next steps?

Now that you understand the importance of website accessibility compliance, it’s time to take action.

Most website owners are not sure where their website stands in terms of compliance standards. Some have accessibility plugins installed, but that does not make a website fully compliant. 

The best place to start is with a quick website audit. This will give you an overview of where you stand and what steps you need to take in order to avoid costly mistakes and lawsuits. You can begin your free website audit here.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is section 508 compliance?

Section 508 compliance means federal agencies are required to secure, maintain, and use Information and Communications Technology (ICT) that can be accessed by those living with disabilities. Whether or not they work for the federal government is not relevant.

What is section 508 of the rehabilitation act?

Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act refers to the steps that federal agencies need to take to ensure that people living with disabilities can access their products and services. This is done by acquiring, maintaining, and using the right Information and Communications Technology.

Section 508 is required for which websites?

Section 508 doesn’t apply to privately owned websites, including individuals and private businesses. However, it does apply to all federal websites and electronic materials.

How to comply with section 508?

To comply with Section 508, start by familiarizing yourself with the Website Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG), which offers clear recommendations on how to be compliant. Next, conduct an audit of your website to identify the accessibility issues that you need to rectify. Elements you may need to work on include images, videos, headers, and color contrast.

What is section 508 compliance requirements?

There are a number of requirements related to being compliant with section 508. Overall, website owners need to make adjustments to their sites that will ensure any online content and products are fully accessible to all visitors, including those with disabilities. Section 508 is based on the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) – a good starting point for compliance.

What is section 508 testing?

Section 508 testing allows a business to test their website and digital content against the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG), which ensure people with disabilities have full access.

Don't feel like reading the entire guide?

But looking to make your website 508 compliant?


Your feedback has been sent. Thank you :)